The Territory



The Republic of Mozambique (República de Moçambique) is located in the southern part of Eastern Africa.

It faces the Indian Ocean to the east, it is bordered by Tanzania to the north, by Zimbabwe, Zambia and Malawi to the west and by South Africa and Swaziland to the south / south-west.

It has an area of about 800,000 square kilometers (about two and a half the size of Italy) and about 25 million inhabitants.

The capital city is Maputo with more than 1.2 million inhabitants, located in the southernmost area of the country: it is only 120 km from South Africa.

The official language is Portuguese, but the most widely spoken languages are those belonging to the Bantu language family.

Mozambique is divided into 11 provinces (provincias), one of which is formed only by the capital Maputo, which enjoys the special city-province status.

The provinces themselves are divided into 128 districts. The northernmost province of the state is Cape Delgado (in Portuguese Cabo Delgado).

Each colors of the flag is associated with a primary element of the State of Mozambique: green represents the richness of the earth, black is for Africa, yellow is for subsoil wealth, white is for peace and red represents the struggle for independence from Portugal.


Cabo Delgado is one of the 11 provincias of Mozambique: it is situated in the north-east of the country, bordered by Tanzania and facing the Indian Ocean.

It has about 1.6 million inhabitants, spread over an area of almost 78 thousand square kilometers (a bit bigger than the whole of the regions of southern Italy: Abruzzo, Basilicata, Calabria, Campania, Molise and Puglia).

Its capital is Pemba, a city founded in 1857 by the Portuguese and today it is one of the most important tourist destinations of the country.

The Province of Cabo Delgado is divided into 17 districts: the one furthest to the north is the District of Palma.


The District of Palma is a coastal area in the far north of Mozambique and it overlooks the Indian Ocean.

It has an area of approximately the size of the Valle d’Aosta (3,493 sq km) and about 50 thousand inhabitants.

The network of communication and transportation is very poor. The main economic activity is fishing.

Identified as one of the most needy areas of the Mozambican territory, it was chosen as the location and the setting for the project “Theater so good”.


Africa is one of the five continents of our planet, the third largest after Asia and America and it is crossed by the equator, the tropic of Cancer and the tropic of Capricorn.

It is considered the cradle of humankind as the oldest human remains were found there.

It has 54 states for a total of 1.1 billion people (data 2013).
More than 2,000 different languages are spoken on the Continent (grouped into 5 different language families), in addition to those – a heritage of the colonization –of European origin (especially English, French and Portuguese).

The African territory was divided into 5 major macro-regions: North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, Southern Africa and East Africa. Mozambique is located in the far south of the latter.